High, Low, and In-Between

I know, I haven’t posted for ages.  I’ve had many, many urges to write but tragically few occasions that would allow me enough time to actually get the job done.  This morning, I just happened to wake up at 4:30 – because my body is perverse, apparently – and got to FB chat with an old friend, which has left me awake and ready to be one of probably only three people answering phones at work this morning.  Blah.

So 2014 is at an end.  It’s been an interesting year with a lot of ups and downs.  Millie was born, which was an obvious up.  She’s become an adorable, engaging, fun baby, and I can say without prejudice that she is the most well-behaved baby I’ve ever met.  Ever.  She never cries (unless there’s a real problem), she’s not a picky eater, she loves her sister, and she sleeps like a champ.  I thought Brett was good until Millie came along.  Now Brett has been exposed as the amazing little drama queen that she is.  They’re incredibly different children, but they’re absolutely best friends and love each other to death, which rocks.

My grandparents’ house is sold – to our corporate lawyer at work, no less! – which was bittersweet, to say the least.  The house is now being gutted and remodeled so that a new generation of kids can call it home.  I hope they will enjoy the place as much as we did.  I know that bricks and mortar are just a place and that memories are portable, but it still stings a little that it’s not ours to call home anymore.  I would’ve bought it myself, had I the means.

My husband and I have had our share of issues this year.  I think that’s normal, and I’m glad that we’re doing better now, but I’d be lying if I said that we hadn’t had some low points this year.  Kids make it harder – harder to find time for each other, harder to find the patience and the energy… There are always other things too, but it’s a lot of work to keep things on an even keel.

And as if that all weren’t enough to keep things moderately interesting, we’re having yet another baby girl.  Yeah, I was surprised – and in denial – too!  Parker and Millie are going to be Irish twins, born less than a year apart.  Things are going to be criminally insane around here, but I keep telling myself that they will all three be close, and it will be worth it, in the long run.  But in case you were curious, the baby factory that is Marge is closed for business after this one.  I am so fucking sick of being pregnant, it’s unreal.  I just want a damn glass of whiskey and a single cigarette!  Oh, let me LIVE!

Anyway, I could keep going on about the year, but I think I’m going to close it with some new musical discoveries because you all know how I roll with music.  I have a couple of posts in mind to start soon, some about Korea.  In the meantime, have a great start to 2015, and please enjoy my new musical selections!

Abigail Washburn, “City of Refuge”
There’s a really great live version of her sitting in an alley with just her banjo playing this song, too.

Sturgill Simpson, “Life Ain’t Fair and the World Is Mean”
I might also recommend the Music Fog version of this song.  I think it displays his vocal range a lot better.

Blaze Foley, “Cold, Cold World”

The Wailin’ Jennys, “Saucy Sailor”

About Marge

I started this blog when I was an American expat living in Changwon, South Korea. I also spent time in France and Germany, and a good portion of my twenties were spent overseas. I clicked my heels together back in 2013 and decided there was no place like home, home being Jacksonville, Illinois. We'll see how I feel in another two years. My ex-husband and I met in Korea. He's English, and we have three daughters together. He's there, and the kids and I are here. When I'm not wearing the "Mom" hat, I enjoy reading, writing, playing my 12-string guitar, sailing, canoeing, and various other nerdy pursuits. I like bourbon and beer, music and concerts, good conversation, museums of all sorts, beaches, comfortable tennis shoes and Chacos, libertarian political theory, and creme brûlée. The Rons are my heroes - Ron Paul and Ron Swanson. I hate Radiohead, home parties, that weird peachy hairspray smell from Bath & Body Works that makes me gag, SJW logic (there is none), and giant rims.

Posted on December 31, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

