Trumped.

Good morning, America.

Are you dehydrated?  My guess is there are a lot of Trump supporters hung over from, well, the usual thing that causes hangovers.  I would also surmise that a lot of Hillary supporters are dehydrated from crying tears of anguish.

I am much happier at a Trump victory than I expected to be.  Well, to be perfectly honest, I never thought it was going to happen, so I never gave any thought to how I’d feel if it did.  But one of the very first headlines I saw when I went to scour the news sites was that Putin has already extended his hand and said he wants to break bread with Trump.  Folks, that is good news.  The best, in fact.  That is the kind of news we need.

Although I do think Trump is a loose cannon, or at least has been up to this point, he has been better on foreign policy than Hillary.  No, China isn’t going to like him, but to be honest, the bit about China manipulating the currency markets is 100% true.  China has been seeking to undermine the US dollar for a long, long time now.  Anyone with any brains at all should know that.  Trump was just being honest, like it or not.  (Apparently the Chinese didn’t like it.)

But I am extremely happy about Russia.  I was worried about what a Hillary presidency would bring us, in terms of a degenerating relationship with the Kremlin.  Although I don’t think that this Trump presidency guarantees a friendlier relationship, I do appreciate the fact that there is at least a chance there for that to happen.  The fact that Putin is at least willing to extend his hand back out to Trump is worth a lot.  And I think it says a lot about where we are coming from, that our enemies/detractors have been essentially unwilling to meet with us.

Here is something that people don’t understand: you don’t have to like someone to negotiate with them.  It is not necessary for someone to like you in order for you to hammer our agreements and at least have a drink.  In the arena of diplomacy it is, in fact, necessary that you negotiate with people that you don’t like – people you may actually find deplorable.  People don’t have to like you, but it is necessary that they respect you, in some basic way.

Yes,  I think the Trump victory sends a rather major signal, not just to the international community but to certain factions here at home.  There has been a major push over the last few years, with the help of the media, to undermine common sense, logic, and reason.  Left is right, up is down, war is peace, etc.  The state of the economy and the insistence of the political establishment on keeping it anemic has left people underemployed, with less disposable income, and less hope for retirement.  The extreme left-leaning rhetoric – the kind of rhetoric that accuses Joe Punchclock of being a racist and a homophobe because he doesn’t want to walk into the ghetto at night and feels some apprehension about men who dress as women and women who want to be men – has left people angry and perhaps not overtly, but it is simmering there, just beneath the surface.  People have been scared to speak out because they don’t want to carry the mantle of racist, homophobe, intolerant, or hater.  They fear for their reputations so they remain quiet in the hopes that they’ll be able to hang onto their little corner of the world as best they can.

Those are the people who came out yesterday.  The fact that Trump took the Rust Belt to me speaks volumes about what is going on in Middle America (or what’s left of it).  States like Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin should have been easy wins for Clinton.  Michigan?  Come on!  Those are the old union guys!  Unions vote Democrat!  But they didn’t.  They really, really didn’t.  The “blue dog Democrats” abandoned Hillary, and it feels like they may have just abandoned her completely.

And they abandoned her because they are tired.  They are tired of struggling to make ends meet.  They are tired of being told that they’re bad people because they aren’t totally enamored with socially liberal policies.  They are tired of feeling forgotten.  And who can really blame them for that?  Their way of life has been eroding for a generation now, at least.  They have felt, quite rightly, that nobody was listening.

I’m not suggesting, by the way, that Trump is.  I don’t think Trump knows what he believes.  I think he says whatever takes his fancy in the moment.  He is an ADD candidate.  He doesn’t have carefully formed opinions on much of anything because he can’t focus on any one thing long enough to really flesh it out.  My hope is that to compensate for that clear deficiency, he will surround himself with a competent brain trust, as any good businessman should.

Besides the potential for international negotiation, at least with some parties with whom it would be wise indeed to have meaningful discussion, I am happy – nay, thrilled – to see the end of the long night of the Clinton Dynasty.  They have been well and truly cut off at the knees in the most humiliating way.  Hillary has made two runs now and lost, and next time, she will be too old.  She has been routed.

I know, I know – I’m a traitor to my sex.  Except that I give respect where it’s due on the basis of morals as well as ability.  The Clintons have no morals, and I do not and have never felt obligated to side in with someone on the basis of some incidental commonality.  Ideas and actions are what matter, and I agree with exactly none of the Clintons’ ideas or actions.  I am proud of that.

I am officially out of time this morning – gotta take two of three kids to the doctor before work – but I leave you with the thought that this was historical, and it will be interesting.  I do not know what path we’re on.  I do not really believe that Trump can “make America great again” like he says he can.  But foolish, optimistic little anarchist that I am, I remain hopeful.

Ding dong, the witch is dead.

About Marge

I started this blog when I was an American expat living in Changwon, South Korea. I also spent time in France and Germany, and a good portion of my twenties were spent overseas. I clicked my heels together back in 2013 and decided there was no place like home, home being Jacksonville, Illinois. We'll see how I feel in another two years. My ex-husband and I met in Korea. He's English, and we have three daughters together. He's there, and the kids and I are here. When I'm not wearing the "Mom" hat, I enjoy reading, writing, playing my 12-string guitar, sailing, canoeing, and various other nerdy pursuits. I like bourbon and beer, music and concerts, good conversation, museums of all sorts, beaches, comfortable tennis shoes and Chacos, libertarian political theory, and creme brûlée. The Rons are my heroes - Ron Paul and Ron Swanson. I hate Radiohead, home parties, that weird peachy hairspray smell from Bath & Body Works that makes me gag, SJW logic (there is none), and giant rims.

Posted on November 9, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

